Subway sandwiches are a classic option for many people looking for lunch or dinner out. And with a range of toppings, bread, and sauces, it seems there’s something for everyone at Subway.
But what about any vegans who want to eat at Subway—you might be wondering, does Subway have vegan options? I did some digging into the subject, and here is what I discovered!
Does Subway Have Vegan Options In 2022?
Subway does have several vegan options for customers who have those dietary requirements as of 2022. In fact, you can choose from a range of popular sandwiches and salads that are all vegan, along with a variety of toppings and condiments. Also, you can check the nutritional information listed on Subway’s website to clear up questions about ingredients.
If you want more information on Subway’s vegan food, what you can order, and more, keep on reading!
Does Subway Have Anything Vegan?
Yes, Subway does cater to the vegan diet. Like most popular fast-food chains, Subway has worked hard to make its menu accessible to people with food requirements.
For vegan customers at Subway, options include several sandwiches, wraps, salads, and even some sides.
However, the main thing to watch out for in Subway ingredients are the stealthy non-vegan products, such as casein, whey, and lactose powders, as well as honey and confectioner’s glaze in dressings.
To ensure your meal is vegan-friendly, you can refer to Subway’s useful Allergy and Sensitivity Information list, found on its website, along with nutrition counts and information on specific ingredients.
Keep in mind that Subway’s vegan options can change depending on the country you travel to, but you can change the country settings on the website to view specifics for Subways all around the world!
Does Subway Have Vegan Cheese?
Unfortunately, for anyone living in the United States, Subway locations have not yet introduced a vegan cheese option.
However, if you’re hoping for a taste of vegan cheese elsewhere in the world, Subway stores in the United Kingdom have a wide range of sandwiches that feature new vegan cheese.
When ordering at a Subway that does not yet have vegan cheese as an option, remember that Subway sandwich artists will put cheese on every order, so make sure to say “no cheese” for a safe meal!
Is The Veggie Patty Vegan At Subway?
Unfortunately, the Veggie Patty is not a vegan option at Subway.
Although vegetarian-friendly, the Veggie Patty contains eggs and milk hiding in egg white and calcium caseinate.
While the name might seem promising to vegans looking for lunch, don’t be fooled by the Veggie Patty at Subway.
However, if you live in specific areas of the United States, the Subway Malibu Vegan Patty is a great option.
That said, this vegan patty is primarily available in select store locations in Connecticut, Florida, Los Angeles, and Washington D.C.
What Products At Subway Are Vegan?
Apart from the meat fillings and the Veggie Patty, Subway offers a range of items that are vegan friendly, though the restaurant chain is not known for being the best vegan option.
For vegan menu choices, opt for the Veggie Delite sub, a falafel sandwich, or even one of the Meatless Meatball Marinara sandwiches that might be available at your local Subway location. And if you order the latter, make sure to leave off the cheese!
When it comes to salad options, you will be safe with a Veggie Delite Salad or a Meatless Meatball Marinara Salad if it’s available at your particular Subway.
Also, there are a wide variety of individual fillings and toppings that are vegan (see below).
What Fillings Are Vegan At Subway?
For anyone wanting to build their own Subway sandwich and still keep it vegan, you have several options.
For example, the following fillings are all vegan and ideal for your perfect sub sandwich at Subway:
- Falafel Patties
- Banana Peppers
- Black Olives
- Green Chilies
- Malibu Vegan Patty
- Meatless Meatball Marinara
- Mixed Peppers
- Red Onions
- Sweet Peppers
What Breads Are Vegan At Subway?
When building your perfect sandwich, the bread is one of the most essential parts. And for vegans, most of the Subway bread is actually safe to eat!
That said, the following bread types are vegan friendly at Subway:
- 9-Grain Bread
- Harvest Loaf
- Hearty Italian Bread (Wheat)
- Italian Bread (White).
- Roasted Garlic Bread
- Slider Rolls
- Sourdough Bread
Does Subway Have Vegan Wraps?
Additionally, Subway offers a variety of wraps that you can opt to have your sandwich made with. And luckily for vegans, several wraps have no animal products in them.
So, the vegan-friendly wraps at Subway include:
- Habanero Wrap
- Spinach Wrap
- Tomato Basil Wrap
- Wheat Wrap
What Sauces Are Vegan At Subway?
Sometimes, your Subway sandwich can feel dry and unfinished without the right sauce, but there are still several vegan options!
Moreover, these are great options for your salad dressings, should you want a greener choice for lunch.
That said, opt for the following sauces to top off your sandwich, vegan-style:
- BBQ Sauce
- Buffalo Sauce
- Fat-Free Italian Dressing
- Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce
- Golden Italian
- Herb Garlic Oil
- Hot Pepper Relish
- Mustard (Deli Brown)
- Mustard (Spicy Brown)
- Mustard (Yellow)
- Mustard Seed Spread
- Oil and Vinegar
- Red Wine Vinegar
- Subway Vinaigrette
- Sweet Chili Sauce
- Sweet Onion Sauce
Are Subway Cookies Vegan?
Unfortunately, Subway cookies are not vegan, as they contain eggs and dairy products, making them a no-no for vegans or anyone eating dairy-free.
However, with Subway’s expanding range of vegan food choices over the past year, there’s hope for a vegan cookie option at Subway soon!
What Sides Are Vegan At Subway?
If you’re looking for a snack to accompany your sandwich or salad, Subway does offer a few vegan options. However, these do tend to change depending on location.
That said, consider pairing your Subway meal with one of the following:
- Apple Slices
- Black Bean Soup
- Lay’s Chips (including Baked Plain, Barbeque, Classic, Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt, Kettle Original, and Lightly Salted)
- Mediterranean Vegetable Soup
- Original Sun Chips
To know more, you can also read our posts on whether or not Subway has salads, if Subway has a seafood sub, and if Subway has soup.
Fortunately, Subway does have lots of vegan options.
So, if you’re looking for meat-free meals that don’t contain any animal products, Subway can be a good and economical option.
That said, you can choose between menu items that are vegan and vegetarian or build your own sandwich from the variety of meatless toppings, sauces, and bread available, pairing it with a vegan side!